A Brief History of Hackerdom

Prologue: The Real Programmers

Real Programmers yeah~!

I was just smiling when I read about this article about hackers who called themselves “real programmers”. Maybe, I will then use the word “real programmers” they have coined from then on, to keep the word more “kewler”.

On the first part then described how this hardcore ‘real programmers’ timestamp the computing industry that in which Seymour Cray, a designer who once toggled an entire computer. Eventhough I have not know much on what the article describes, but still I am amazed on how he did it. I did not know that the term hacker was to old that it was first used in the 1960’s. According to the article ARPAnet gave an open door for all hackers all over the US seas. And to think of Jargons are from these set of people. I was amazed then when they had their Jargon files and have published their own Hacker’s Dictionary. I would not think of hacking have spread out of United States that time. Well, I thought that hacking was bad that time and unti now, but as I have read this article I guess it haven’t been a badthing before. Now, was the only time they limit hackers, actually many people think that hacking was bad in fact not all are right? Back to what I am narrating, Stanford in fact gave their school for real programmers.

I was reading the next page, Rise of UNIX and read about this assembler programming done by Thompson and Ritchie and got interested how they do it. A year go, I am thinking of how to develop a program those software used by banks. As I was researching and by word of mouth I learned that those application was built with the use of machine language programming. I am new in the industry and I am not fond of learning via internet nor learning on my own. I need someone to teach me, someone who can answer all my questions. Salute to Thompson and Ritchie. They were good~ haha.

Those were the few things I remembered when I was reading the article. Anyhow, I’m learning from this book. basic knowledge yeah~!

Leave a Reply

